For Sale: My All-City Nature Boy 853

Custom-built and ready to ride.

Well, our time together was short. I have a bad habit of getting bikes without going through a rigorous geometry check. This All-City is just a bit big on me and my abnormally short torso, and so we never really jived together. It’s time to move this on to a new home.

It’s a great bike and, since I didn’t ride it as much as I hoped, it’s in almost perfect condition with a great selection of parts.

Two other blog readers have purchased some of my past bikes, and I would love to see this bike go to a reader as well. Let me know if you’re interested and we’ll work out a fair price. Right now I am hoping for $1950 with shipping included (total parts and labor cost was around $3k). I am open to reasonable offers.

Here’s the full breakdown:

Frame: All-City Nature Boy 853, Size 58cm. Reynolds 853 Tubing is incredibly strong for its weight, similar to titanium, and is very corrosion-resistant. Custom-designed dropouts by Anna Schwinn, lots of signature touches on the seatpost collar, braze-ons, and head tube. 44mm head tube is tapered for modern forks. English-threaded BB, disc brake only.
Fork: Whisky No. 7 Carbon Fork, QR, disc brake only.
Wheels: Handbuilt for me by Laughing Dog Bicycles. Front is 32 spoke Stan’s NoTubes Grail rim to Surly Ultra New disc front hub using silver DT Swiss Champion spokes and brass DT Swiss nipples, 3-cross. Rear is 32-spoke Stan’s Notubes Grail rim to lightweight/indestructible Hope Pro 4 Singlespeed Trials hub, with silver DT Swiss Champion spokes and brass DT Swiss nipples, also 3 cross. Wheels were re-trued a few weeks after building, and again in April. and are perfectly true now.
Tires: Teravail Cannonball, Dirty Kanza Edition, Bead-To-Bead Aramid and 120 TPI.  Set up tubeless with Stan’s valves, tape, and sealant.
Rear Cog: Endless Bicycle Co. 19T in hot pink
Chain: SRAM 10-Speed Titanium Nitride
Crankset: SRAM Rival 1 GXP Cyclocross Crank. Original crank was warrantied, so this crank is only 2 months old.
Bottom bracket: Upgraded to Wheels Mfg. GXP Bottom bracket, 175mm
Pedals: Pedals included, Crank Bros. Doubleshot, Blue
Seatpost: Thomson 27.2 Silver Seatpost. Some aesthetic scratches and marks from a Nitto M13 rack that I used briefly. Priced accordingly.
Seat: WTB Silverado
Stem: ControlTech 90mm
Handlebars: 46cm Easton EC70 Carbon drop bars, brand new, installed and used less than 50 miles. Wrapped in expensive Brooks Cambium rubber bar tape.
Brake Levers: Sram S-500
Brakes: USA-Made Paul Klampers, black and orange. Beautiful CNC-machined brakes with incredible modulation and stopping power. I lost the bolt that holds the cable on the front brake, and replaced it with another. These brakes are beautiful – I would keep them but I am selling the bike complete, so you get a real steal on these. There’s a little surface rust on the bolts, but I emailed Paul and he says it’s nothing to worry about.
Cables and Housing: Jagwire Pro Compressionless
Headset: Cane Creek 40
For more pictures, head on over to my Flickr Account. 

Thanks folks!
Max

Leave a Reply

