First Look: Rogue Panda Designs Bikepacking Framebag

Steady, Rogue 2…

MD027739-1

Rogue Panda Designs

Rogue Panda Designs is a one-man bikepacking operation out of Flagstaff, AZ, headed by my friend Nick Smolinske. I met Nick earlier this year through the Backpacking Light forums, an awesome online community for hikers and backpackers that I frequent looking for advice, used gear, and conversation. Nick was just getting started with his new bikepacking bag operation, and we got to chatting about a custom bag for my Surly Karate Monkey.

Rogue Panda uses a pretty unique process for making custom framebags. You don’t need to measure your bike’s tubing, there’s no need for manufacturer’s blueprints, and it works for any style of bike in any size, even tandem. The process uses a photo of your bike, taken with a ruler, to mathematically derive the dimensions of the inner area of the frame. Nick custom sews a bag with those exact dimensions for a perfect fit around rear suspension, bottle cages, or odd-shaped inner triangles.

Full disclosure: The first go at fitting the curvy seat tube on my Karate Monkey wasn’t a perfect fit. Good enough for me, but not good enough for Nick, who insisted on fixing it at his expense. If his process doesn’t work for your frame on the first try, Nick will either offer you a partial refund and let you keep the slightly mismatched bag, or he’ll build you a brand new bag for free. That kind of guarantee on custom work was refreshing.

MD027737

The resulting fit and finish after the very quick fix (about a week turnaround) looks top of the line, even though the price skirts well under other bag-makers. The fabric itself looks top-notch, too; the framebags are sewn with Dimension-Polyant X-Pac Fabric for durability and ultra-light-weight, and the interior is laminated in a lighter color for visibility.

MD027741

My framebag is a dual-compartment bag with access on the non-drive side, with a drive-side map pocket and a folding internal divider. I spoke to Nick to figure out which design suited me best, and this was it. The divider is particularly clever, since it folds up and out of the way via velcro patches on the sides of the framebag when you’re carrying something larger, like tent poles. I like the flexibility there, and I haven’t seen that from other manufacturers.

MD027736

All the contact points with the frame are foam-padded and covered with a tough Ballistic Nylon fabric that almost feels rubberized. Zippers are waterproof YKK #10, and the velcro attachment straps are all reinforced, as are all of the seams. There’s something innately reassuring about a double-seam.

MD027733

And here’s the big drive-side reveal… Rogue Panda is one of only a handful of bikepacking companies doing custom design work!

Their Colorado and Arizona State Flag bikepacking bags are a sight to behold. If Massachusetts’ state flag weren’t so lame, I might have gone that way. I had Nick sew up my name on the side of the bag just to give his custom work a shot, though you can get decidedly more artistic with your vision. In light of the Supreme Court decision, I’m wishing I had gone rainbow…

MD027744

The frame bag also nests perfectly with the Oveja Negra top tube bag I already had, and Rogue Panda Designs offers top tube bags in several colors that’ll also match perfectly with a framebag. Just shoot him an email and ask about getting something custom-fit if standard bags don’t work with your rig.

Rogue Panda offers the full suite of bikepacking gear, along with a few extras:

Stay tuned for a full review after I’ve put this bag through the ringer, and a first look at Rogue Panda’s Picketpost seat bag.

Keep Riding,

Max

5 thoughts on “First Look: Rogue Panda Designs Bikepacking Framebag

  1. Max,

    Thanks for the post! I’m glad to see that the fix worked well. I’d like to add a few notes if I could:

    1) I haven’t announced this officially yet, but I guess I might as well here – I hired a friend of mine as my first employee! So I’m technically not a “one-man” shop anymore. Right now she’s working on the non-custom stuff like seatbags and top tube bags.

    2) The light-colored interior fabric is actually a standard part of Xpac – one of many nice features of working with the Xpac fabric. So it’s not something special that I do compared to other framebag makers, but I agree that it’s really nice!

    3) Thanks for the full disclosure about the mistake. I like to be upfront about these things. I’ve made math errors similar to yours on 3% of framebags so far. That isn’t good enough for me, but that error rate is dropping as time goes on.

    -Nick Smolinske
    Founder of Rogue Panda Designs

  2. Good looking bags, thanks for the heads up, especially since they are local-ish (I’m located in Phoenix). I’ll definitely have to check them out when it comes time to get my bikepacking build together (planning a Surly Ogre drop-bar build).

    1. That fork is a Surly Ogre fork, so it has bottle bosses built in. No aftermarket hardware necessary. I have seen people have good luck with hose clamps, however!

Leave a Reply

