‘Get Lost’ Road Riding

If not knowing where you are is the point, can you still get lost?

MD027660-1

Getting lost is way easier when you have no sense of direction to begin with. I’m infamous in my backpacking group for being completely useless with a map. This isn’t such a bad thing in the Northeast; we’re so densely infrastructured up here, I only need to glance at my GPS to find a road home, no matter how many wrong turns I’ve made along the way. I always have hours to kill, dirt roads to dig up, plenty of sunscreen, and two wheels.

Here’s what I’m hauling:

This all rolls up nicely in my Oveja Negra 1/2 Pack, which is conveniently short for my 58cm frame. This gives clearance for my downtube front derailleur shifter, which would obstruct almost any other framebag.

Let’s see where I end up next time…

Max

4 thoughts on “‘Get Lost’ Road Riding

  1. I’m directionally challenged, too. Must be genetic. When I go on long rides, solo, with spotty cell service that chews up the iPhone battery, I carry a small battery pack by iHome called the Pebble. It fits in my seat bag and charges the phone pretty quickly.

Leave a Reply

