Quebec, You’re Beautiful, But I Can’t Understand A Word You’re Saying

MAX_4148

 

After meeting up with my cousin Thomas in Burlington and weighing his car down enough to burst his coolant tank and put it in the shop, I spent a quiet day getting ahead on work and then headed for Canada in the early morning. Grand Isle, VT is pretty awesome; it’s a town nestled with a handful of other towns on the Hawaii of inland New England, the islands of Lake Champlain. The lake isn’t big enough for its own tide, but it can hold several communities of locals just fine.

I lost my first item; two straps for holding the dry-bag to the front of my rack. I must’ve left them in Tom’s car before it went to the shop. The shoulder straps from my bike bags do the job. I got lucky!

I didn’t realize that I forgot to memorize any french (at all) until I was at the first rest stop. The waitress looked just short of painfully abject when I asked if she spoke english and then asked for WiFi. I felt like a true tourist; I should have hung my camera around my neck for maximum effect.

The border was easy to cross, though. When a 23 year old tells you he’ll be in your country for a month, and will probably try and bike to Toronto and then bike through British Columbia, you’d think they’d ask a few questions. The lovely border guard had me through in three minutes with a smile. I can’t wait for my interrogation on the way back in (“just how the hell did you get to Vancouver?”)

Today, I’ll try to stealth camp at a golf course. Tomorrow, it’s Montreal!

Salut!

Max

One thought on “Quebec, You’re Beautiful, But I Can’t Understand A Word You’re Saying

  1. Going into Canada is easy; just wait until you try to re-enter the U.S. When I re-entered the U.S. in New York a few years ago in a rental car, the U.S. Border Patrol found it strange that I didn’t own a car (I live in Boston with lots of transportation choices and don’t normally need a car, if I do I just rent one – easy enough) but they proceeded to go through the empty rental car, and through my one piece of luggage before letting me through. About 10 miles later I came across border patrol roadblock where I was let though easy peasy.
    Yeah, some of those folk in Quebec just don’t speak English, I find it rather odd myself.

    Have fun out there living the dream,
    Mark

Leave a Reply

